CA students' short films showcased in CINEMArriba 2015

Posted on March 02, 2015

      The AB Communication area of Letran Bataan held its short film fair entitled 'CINEMArriba' last February 23 & 24, 2015.

      Three short films were shown to the community in the audio-visual room: 'Siklo', which explores the moral dilemmas of an impoverished adolescent, 'Duyan', a film about the dangers found in the streets; and 'Dreamcatcher', which describes an unforgettable love affair.

      The said films are the final requirements of the students in their Video Film-Making subject.

      "I'd like to congratulate the three production groups not only for finishing the films, but for such quality output." Gabriel Jessie Guevarra, film instructor, said in his closing remarks in the awarding ceremonies which culminated the two-day affair.

The films impressed the viewers as gauged by their reactions during the public screenings. Applauses met the ending credits of each film and congratulatory remarks were given to the directors.

      A group comprising of industry practitioners, journalists, faculty members, an administrator and staff of the Colegio served as technical panel members who judged the three films in various categories.

    The following were the awards given:
  • Best Screenplay - 'Duyan' Screenplay by Ruden Mores & Jhunren Baluyot
  • Best Cinematography - 'Dreamcatcher' Director of Photography: Modesto Banzon III
  • Best in Post Production - 'Dreamcatcher' Editor: Modesto Banzon III
  • Best in Production Design - 'Dreamcatcher' Art Directors: Jazzlyne Gedaria & Anne Tanjutco
  • Best Performance by an Ensemble - 'Duyan'
  • Special Citation in Acting - Artvyn Lorenz Carreon in 'Duyan'
  • Best Actor - 'Justine Labandelo' in 'Siklo'
  • Best Actress - 'Krizzialyn Cacabilos' in 'Dreamcatcher'
  • People's Choice Award - 'Siklo' by Mango Productions
  • Best Director - Modesto Banzon III 'Dreamcatcher'
  • Best Film - 'Dreamcatcher' by Infinitus Productions

Communication areachairman Jayson Nicholas Viray (Left) and film instructor Gabriel Jessie Guevarra (Right) with the production team which grabbed the Best Film award (L-R: Jazzlyne Gedaria, Modesto Banzon III & Anne Tanjutco).

      All films were accompanied by original film scores produced by Guevarra who is also a musical arranger himself. 'Dreamcatcher' has its own original soundtrack entitled 'Never Forget' as written by Information Technology senior John Michael Enriquez and performed by Hospitality Management senior Jeanne Gabaya.

      For more trailers and other media content posted by the film producers, visit the official page of CINEMArriba at

Theatrical Posters

-Marlon Holgado and Photographs courtesy of Michael Mateo


10 Feb 2015

Letranites shine in Letran Personalities 2015 Read more..

10 Feb 2015

High School Family Day bond participants Read more..

09 Feb 2015

Mass for St. Thomas Aquinas opens Colegio Week 2015 Read more..